
Finding Magazine and Journal Articles

The following databases are useful for locating magazine and
journal articles pertaining to LGBT issues.
AIDSearch
MEDLINE AIDS/HIV Subset, AIDSDRUGS & AIDSTRIALS
databases are compiled by the National Library of Medicine
(NLM) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. They contain copyrighted
material. NLM represents that the data provided were formulated
with a reasonable standard of care.
Alternative Press Index
Citations for API are drawn from roughly 250 alternative, radical, and left
publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic,
political, and social change. Indexed articles include regular columns, editorials,
fiction, interviews, bibliographies, biographies, and reviews. Covers 1991-present,
updated quarterly.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the
history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the presenter. Published since
1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic enteries.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides information on women in over 150 countries, bringing together such
disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights. Includes full
text access to 1500 journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups,
government and international agencies. Covers 1992-present, updated weekly.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus
on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports
programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history,
political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's
studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines,
newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference
proceedings, and government, NGO, and special reports.
GLBT Life
"Contains all of the content available in GLBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and
historically significant GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens
for full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a
specialized GLBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms."
Left Index
This resource provides a guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on
political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship. A secondary emphasis is on
significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include
labor, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology,
art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Over 98,000
citations & abstracts, some with full text from 1982 to the present. The Left Index is
available in paper format from 1983-1999 under call number 016.32053 L522.
Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a resource for accessing information in
sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database
draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial
publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974
contain abstracts of journal articles.
Women's Studies
International
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in
Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. WRI provides citations
from nearly 800 sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters,
proceedings, reports, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and gray
literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. WRI covers the areas of
sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international
relations, arts & humanities, business and education. The database goes back to 1972
and is updated quarterly.
|