| Handbooks |
 |
Return
to Table of Contents | Return
to Expanded Table of Contents
There is an almost audible
groan in every discussion of Slavic sources when one mentions handbooks
or bibliographic guides. Researchers do not generally work from such general
sources to specific titles. When a scholar has already targeted a specific
area of study and is only looking for one or two sources, they may not
be the most appropriate resource. However, for those that are looking
for the sources to insure thorough research and comprehensive coverage,
bibliographic guides are essential. These sources often save more time
than any other resource. Rather than attempt a comprehensive list of all
guides, this page will give you the broad sources in which most others
can be found.
These are the sources
that will give you the fastest overview of the types of sources you can
expect to find in a particular field. Not all such sources are created
equal. Some of the older general guides to reference materials were particularly
inadequate for Slavic materials. Today this problem has been eliminated
and the newer guides are quite good. The handbooks
that are described on the following pages will introduce the scholar to
this type of resource and indicate the most important of the titles that
have been published.
The first type of guide
included here is the general list of all types of reference sources, not
limited by geographic region. This kind of source will include, but not
be limited to, materials on the Slavic field. These are the guides of
general reference sources such as Balay.
Also included in this general list are guides to specific subject areas.
The titles of such guides do not always indicate the interdisciplinary
nature of their content. Such a guide is Domay's
guide to works on national bibliography. Another such work is a recent
publication on Law. Domay's guide
is particularly deceptive as it lists virtually every regional bibliography
avaialble at the time of its publication.
The other sources included
in this list are subject and regionally specific. Thus, there are sources
such as Croucher's Slavic studies that covers the publications
of all Slavic countries and Tania Konn's Guide to business information
on Central & Eastern Euorpe. There are also those guides that
are specific to one country and one subject. Such guides are more commonly
found for some countries than for others. So, for example, subject guides
for Russia
are broadly available, but are not so numerous for the Czech
Republic.
No matter which type
of source you use it will be necessary for you to understand the compiler's
methods in order to get the most from the resource. For this reason it
is strongly recommended that the user begin the examination of any of
these sources by a brief look at the introduction. It can save you enormous
amounts of time and will be very helpful in getting the most from the
source.
Link to Annotated Guide to Handbooks
Return to Table
of Contents | Return
to Expanded Table of Contents
|