|
HANDBOOKS
Return to Table
of Contents | Return to Expanded Table of Contents
Bruhn, Peter and Volkhard Thiede. Bibliographien
zum Schrifttum aus und uber Osteuropa. (Series: Bibliographische Mitteilungen
des Osteuropa-Instituts an der Freien Universitat Berlin.27) Munchen:Omnia Mikrofilmtechnik
GmbH. 1992 UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference Q.015.47F 882b
This excellent catalog provides access to many of the bibliographic
resources for the region. The catalog lists those materials avaialble at the institute
and is limited only by the contents of that institution's library. The catalog
is organized by country and then subdivided into subject headings. Each
regional section contains copies of the card catalog cards for specific bibliographies.
There are extensive sections on national bibliography and retrospective bibliography
for each country. This is a very rich source for the beginning scholar seeking
an overview of the bibliographic coverage for a particular topic. The catalog
covers all bibliographies on a region and topic and is not limited by language.
A note on organization may be helpful. The table of contents
is entirely in German and can make it somewhat difficult to find some of the material
in this catalog. Further, the entries themselves reflect all the changes library
catalogs have experienced over the years. Therefore, some have complete author-title
entries. Others will be limited to title and call number. As with some of the
other sources, this catalog requires a careful reading if it is to be used effectively.
The lack of annotations is a handicap.
Croucher, Murlin (ed.). Slavic
studies: a guide to bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Wilmington:
Scholarly Resources Inc. 1993. UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference
Q.016.947 Sl16 V.1-2 Croucher's two volume work on Slavic
studies is an excellent overall guide to resources in the Slavic field. He includes
not only bibliographic titles, but reference resources of all types. The work
is organized by country with a general section entitled "Area Studies" opening
the first volume. Each section is preceded by a listing of the organizational
headings used in that section. All entries include complete bibliographic information
as well as Indiana's classification number, the Library of Congress number is
included in brackets in some cases. Occasionally, other holding institutions will
be listed. The compiler did not include electronic resources in this volume. For
the less experienced scholar, this source requires a bit more finesse for several
reasons. While it is extremely thorough, listing thousands of sources, the subject
headings are somewhat idiosyncratic.
Thus, the entry for Estreicher's monumental bibliography
of Polish publications is not under the entry "Bibliography" as the user might
expect, but rather under "Imprints". The annotations
frequently do not indicate the significance of the source as in the case of that
given for Estreicher's work. By contrast the entry for the
Czech bibliography by Foit Cesky katalog bibliograficky za rok 1889-1903
(Slavic studies, V.1, p. 197) is extensive with more detail.
The annotations for the two sources would certainly not
indicate the significance of the source. The Czech source covers a 14 year time
span while Estreicher's work spans several centuries. The issue here is how an
uninitiated user might interpret the very cursory annotation for the Polish source.
However, if you are familiar with the sources in a general way, and are seeking
a list of bibliographic entries on a particular subject it can be an excellent
resource. Slavic studies is a wonderful
resource but does require some expertise on the part of the user.
Encyclopedia of world cultures.
Levinson, David, ed. New York: G. K. Hall & Co., 1991-. V.1-10.
V.4 Europe (Central, Western and Southeastern Europe) UIUC Call Number:
Q.306 En19 EDR V.6 Russia and Eurasia/China UIUC
Call Number: Q.306 En19 Slavic Library - Reference Section This
work is described in general as follows: "A basic reference source to the cultures
of the world. Provides descriptions of all the cultures of each region of the
world or of a representative sample of cultures for regions where full coverage
is impossible, as well as accurate descriptions of cultures of the past."
The volume is arranged alphabetically by culture. The editors
have included a general orientation section for each culture as well as information
on the history, settlements, economy, kinship structure, family structure, sociopolitical
organization and religion of each people. This information is followed by a brief
bibliography of major sources, in the vernacular language and English. This is
a useful introductory source and can be helpful in orienting oneself to the major
bibliographic sources for a particular ethnographic group. Each
volume includes a glossary of terms and a filmography. There is also an "Ethnonym
Index" which can be useful in finding alternative names of various ethnographic
groups.
Horecky, Paul L. East
Central Europe. A guide to basic publications. Chicago: The University
of Chicago Press, 1969. 956p. UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference
016.943 H78e One of a series of guides on Eastern Europe
published in the late 1960s, this remains an excellent starting point to obtain
a basic knowledge of sources on the region. The volume is organized mainly by
country, but does have a general section at the beginning which lists sources
on the region. It includes Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Sorbians
and Polabians.
Horecky's stated purpose was to select the most important
sources on the region. Within each regional division he has subsections devoted
to individual topics: general reference, bibliographies, the land, the people,
history, the state, economy, society, intellectual and cultural life. It is also
important to keep in mind that the editors have been very selective and never
intended for this to serve as a comprehensive source. One
of the features that makes this such a rich source of information is the extensive
annotation that is supplied for the major sources. Horecky relied on a group of
scholars to select and annotate the sources in this volume. Their subject expertise
is apparent in every entry. This is a source that is only
useful for those looking at retrospective material since it has never been updated.
However, it is a source one frequently returns too for an overview of the publishing
within a particular subject area. It also provides a sense of the interest in
certain topics at various times. The annotations are rich in detail providing
a wealth of supplemental material. They are a wonderful source for information
on the national bibliographic material for the country, legal publications, general
reference publications such as encyclopedias, biographical sources, statistics,
periodical publications and many other topics. Citations listed in the annotations
are included in the main index. Another virtue of this title is that is widely
held and can be found in most libraries.
Horecky, Paul L. Southeastern
Europe. A guide to basic publications. Chicago: The University of Chicago
Press, 1969. 755p. UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference 016.91496
H78s Like the volume on East Central Europe this
volume was compiled with the assistance of a number of specialists. The volume
is organized by country with one general section on the region. The countries
included are Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania, Yugoslavia. Horecky's
stated purpose was to select the most important sources on the region. Within
each regional division he has subsections devoted to individual topics: general
reference, bibliographies, the land, the people, history, the state, economy,
society, intellectual and cultural life. It is also important to keep in mind
that the editors have been very selective and never intended for this to serve
as a comprehensive source. One of the features that
makes this such a rich source of information is the extensive annotation that
is supplied for the major sources. Horecky relied on a group of scholars to select
and annotate the sources in this volume. Their subject expertise is apparent in
every entry. Many of these contain valuable clues to tracking material in a particular
country on a specific topic. For example, legal materials are frequently difficult
to identify. The entries in this volume provide useful information for anyone
seeking to track legal information as is apparent in the following citation.
As should be clear from the citation, the compiler has provided
more than just information on this title. The information on supporting publications
is extremely valuable. This is typical of Horecky's guide. It is a feature that
sets them apart from other publications that may be more comprehensive, but less
informative for the novice. The rich annotations make this source especially valuable
for general information on bibliography, general reference sources, legal information,
periodicals and their indexes, dictionaries, statistical sources and a number
of other topics.
Internet legal resource guide
URL: www.ilrg.com
The Internet legal resource guide is one of the most useful
sources on the web for identifying a wide range of materials on law. The site
is organized around its search mechanism. From the page pictured above, the user
would select a country from a list on the bottom of the page. The user then selects
one of four categories from a pull-down menu. These include all sites, commercial
sites, educational sites, government sites, organization sites. The user can do
a search on any term and get a list of matches for that country. It is a useful
mechanism for locating current information on law for all countries. This
is primarily a search mechanism and not a subject listing.
Lewanski, Richard C. Bibliography
of Slavic dictionaries. Bologna:Editrice Compositori, 1972, V.1-4. (Part
of World Bibliography of Dictionaries.) UIUC Call Number: General
Slavic Reference 016.4918 L58b 1972 V.1-4 This is a source
with a variety of uses. The most obvious is as a reference guide to the published
dictionaries for the region. The four volumes are arranged by country, beginning
with volume one devoted completely to Poland. The dictionaries included are not
just language resources. Lewanski has included biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias,
dictionaries, thus it provides access to a number of different types of sources.
The first volume on Poland was intended as a single study
Polish language dictionaries. The coverage of this language is, to some extent
more complete than those represented in the other volumes. Volume two is devoted
to general Slavic dictionaries, Belorussian, Bulgarian, Czech, Kashubian, Lusatian,
Polabian, Macedonian, Old Church Slavic, Serbocroatian, Slovak, Slovenian, and
Ukrainian. Each section is followed by its own author, language and subject index.
Volume three is devoted to Russian and the final volume updates the sources in
the previous three volumes. Lewanski's set is a very good
starting point. However, the scholar should be aware that the absence of any annotation
makes it difficult to find some of the more valuable resources. A case in point
is the Slovar' sovremennogo russkogo literaturnogo iazyka published by
the Academy of Sciences. This is a valuable resource for identifying quotations,
as well as tracing the origins of terms to their original literary usage. Using
Lewanski effectively presupposes at least a basic knowledge of the sources.
Virtual
library history central catalogue URL:
http://vlib.iue.it/history/index.html
This is an excellent resource for those seeking electronic
information on history for all regions. The links on the page are divided into
the following categories: research methods and materials, historical topics, eras
and epochs, regions. From these sites the user can find most Western gateway sites
for specific topics. The site is hosted by the University of Kansas and is kept
current by its numerous editors.
The majority of the sites
listed here are in English. However, most have listings of vernacular language
materials, for example, Infomine. It is a useful clearinghouse for electronic
resources on the history and should not be overlooked.
Bako, Elemer. Guide to Hungarian
studies. Stanford: Hoover Institution Press, 1973. Vol. 1-2. UIUC
Call Number: Hungarian Reference 016.91439 B17g v.1-2 Bako's
excellent discussion of the resources for Hungarian studies is essential to anyone
beginning work in this field. While it is almost 30 years out of date, it still
provides the most convenient and thorough coverage of the sources available in
all areas of study on Hungary. The volume is much
more than just a bibliography containing a chronology of Hungarian history and
a discussion of the origins of Hungarian culture. Bako has included all areas
of research with sections on culture, general resources, statistics, geography,
geology, demography, folklore, ethnology, history, government, politics, society,
ecnomics, religion, language, literature, fine arts, education, science, press
and Hungarica. The interdisciplinary nature of this work
makes it especially useful for anyone interested in Hungarian studies. The section
on general works is a survey of many of the most important resources for the region.
including such titles as The American bibliography of Slavic and East European
studies. Some of the more noticable omissions include Horecky
and Horak's bibliographies. However, Bako notes in his introdution that he does
not attempt to be comprehensive. His annotations are very brief when any are included.
Balay, Robert (ed.). Guide
to reference books. (11th edition). Chicago:American Library Association.
1996. UIUC Call Number: 025.51 W721G Main Reference This
guide was published in many editions. It is divided by subject category and will
give a quick overview of reference sources in all areas of study. Some country
sections will be subdivided into sections on bibliography, history, guides, encyclopedias,
translations, biography, etc. This is the case for the section on Russian literature.
For other countries all entries will be under the general subject area with no
subdivision, e.g. Polish literature. All entries are annotated, providing basic
information on the content of the source and its publication history. The work
includes an index that interfiles authors, editors, compilers, titles and subjects
in one alphabet. The compiler has drawn on earlier editions and works published
since the earlier editions appeared. As the compiler notes, the guide is intended
for a North American audience and emphasizes sources published in and relevant
to that region of the world. However, it does provide an introduction to foreign
sources. It is not comprehensive and for some topics will
only give the briefest of indications of the sources available on a subject. Thus,
to have a thorough knowledge of the sources will require a great deal more work.
However, it is an excellent starting point. It is the type of source that is enormously
useful when beginning work on a topic that is unfamiliar. It is widely available
and can be found in virtually all libraries.
Domay, Freidrich. Bibliographie
der nationalen bibliographien. Stuttgart: Anton Hiersemann-Verlag. 1987
UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference 016.015 D711b c.2 The
rather lengthy entry you see below is included to illustrate the wealth of material
included in this guide to national bibliography.
For those seeking information on the national bibliographies
of the nations of the world this is one of the best sources. The compiler has
divided the volume into sections by continent and country. For each country his
includes information on national bibliography in the broadest sense. That is,
he includes annotated citations not only for the official national bibliographic
publications of each country, but for all those publications that provided a record
of the press in that nation. He also has no chronological limit. He
further assists the researcher by including information on a wide range of sources
on the bibliography of each nation. Thus, under Romania, Domay includes a section
entitled "Einfuhrungen, Darstellungen, Ubersichten, Bibliographien der Bibliographien"
which includes a list of sources that will serve the scholar in finding a range
of material on Romania.
Winterton, Jules and Moys,
Elizabeth M. Information sources in law. London: Bowker Saur. 1997.
UIUC Call Number: General Slavic Reference 016.3494 In37 1997 This
is a guide to current legal publications for all of Europe. The goal was to provide
a guide to current sources on the subject for each country. Each section is written
by an expert and all bear a similar arrangement, although there are different
selection criteria for the material cited. "However, the overall objective is
constant; that of providing a way into a subject to those new to the field or
to identify major new or possibly unexplored sources to those already familiar
with it."(p.v) The volume is arranged by country. Within
each country section there is an introduction on the legal system in that nation,
a discussion of legal research in the area, with sources for texts of legislation,
codes and commentaries, treaties, and law reports. There is also a discussion
with references to online access to legal codes. The authors includes information
on legal encyclopedias, bibliographies and dictionaries that the researcher should
be aware of. There is a listing of serial publications and statistical resources
as well. Each section closes with a bibliography
of works cited. The opening section covers general works on the field and directs
the researcher to a number of useful, but often overlooked resources. For example,
one of the sources mentioned under directories is The World of Learning. This
is a directory of institutions of higher education. The authors here also note
its usefulness in identifying libraries and scholarly associations. All in all
this is an excellent resource for anyone working on current legal research in
the region. Return
to Table of Contents | Return
to Expanded Table of Contents |