|
CZECH AND SLOVAK SUBJECT GUIDES
Subject guides differ from bibliographies
of bibliographies in that they annotate and arrange their content in such a way
as to acquaint the user not only with the available sources, but also with a general
research strategy for a specific subject. Bibliographies of bibliographies usually
just list and annotate resources. Guides are usually a very good way to begin
research on a topic. Unfortunately, for Czech and Slovak there are not many guides
available. The researcher has to rely on specialized subject bibliographies which
will be covered in a separate section of this course. Czechoslovakia:
a bibliographic guide. Sturm, Rudolf. Washington, DC: Library
of Congress, 1967. 157 p. UIUC Call Number: Czech Reference 016.91437
ST9C plus History and Law Libraries The main focus of this
guide is to discuss briefly bibliographic sources (published
before the mid 1960's) for many topics related to Czechoslovakia with particular
emphasis on English language publications. However, if none such or very few exist,
as is the case for many topics, sources in Czech, Slovak, German or other languages
are included. It begins by acquainting the reader with the basic bibliographic
sources for Czech and Slovak monographs and serials and then follows with sections
on general reference works such as encyclopedias. Other sections are more subject-oriented,
covering resources for history, politics and government, law, economics, social
conditions, religion, philosophy, education, literature, etc. Also included are
discussions of biographical sources and several archive guides. The information
is presented in narrative form with a bibliography of works covered at the end
of the book. This guide was commissioned by the Library of Congress and prepared
by a subject specialist. Unfortunately, it has not been updated so sources published
since the early 1960's are not covered. 
"Czechoslovakia" in East
Central Europe: a guide to basic publications. Horecky, Paul L.,
ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969. pp.137-358. UIUC Call Number:
Slavic Reference 016.943 H78e + copies in History, Undergrad, Main Stacks
The main focus of this guide is to familiarize users with
publications produced before 1969 that pertain to various
aspects of the Czech and Slovak Republics. The content reflects the compiler's
judgment in choosing the best sources available at that time to represent the
topic. It begins by acquainting the reader with the basic bibliographic and other
sources for the entire East Central European area. The Czechoslovakia chapter
is divided into the following sections: General reference aids and bibliographies,
the Land, the People, History, the State, the Economy, the Society, and Intellectual
and cultural life. Each of these sections is further subdivided into more narrow
topics. The entries have detailed annotations that are often mini surveys of the
literature and refer the user to other sources that were not included in the guide
itself. Commissioned by the American Council of Learned Societies and the Social
Science Research Council, the guide was prepared by numerous subject specialists
who had the expertise to select and annotate not only reference works, but also
monographs that provided good coverage of a topic. Even some archival sources
are discussed. Unfortunately, it has not been updated so sources published since
the late 1960's are not covered. This guide covers publications in Eastern and
Western European languages, but the emphasis is on English. There is an extensive
author-title-subject index and a list of contributors to the volume. Return
to Table of Contents | Return
to Expanded Table of Contents |