Citation Style Manuals
There are several citation style manuals available that provide details of how to cite sources. The resources below may be helpful as you document your sources.
- Citing Print & Electronic Resources:
APA | MLA | Chicago | Legal Citation - Citation Managers: RefWorks and EndNote
- Finding Style Manuals on Campus
Citing Print & Electronic Resources
APA Style
- APA Style from the UIUC Writers' Workshop
An online handbook showing how to cite print and electronic sources using APA style. - APA Style for Internet Sources
Recommended by the American Psychological Association (APA). - Social Sciences: Documenting Sources
An online guide showing how to cite sources using APA style. - Quick models (PDF)
- Sample APA Paper (PDF)
A sample paper demonstrating correct APA style.
MLA Style
- MLA Style from the UIUC Writers' Workshop
An online handbook showing how to cite print and electronic sources using MLA style. - How do I document sources from the Web in my works-cited list?
An online guide showing how to document sources from the Web in a works-cited list. - Humanities: Documentating Sources
An online guide showing how to cite sources using MLA style. - Quick models (PDF)
- Sample MLA Paper (PDF)
A sample paper demonstrating correct MLA style.
Chicago Style
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- History: Documenting Sources
An online guide showing how to cite sources using Chicago style. - Quick models (PDF)
- Sample Chicago Paper (PDF)
A sample paper demonstrating correct Chicago style.
Legal Citation
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
This citation primer demonstrated how to cite cases, constitutions and statutes, regulations, and other forms of legal documents and materials. Written by Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.
Citation Managers: RefWorks and EndNote
RefWorks
The library provides access to a citation management program called RefWorks. It is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to store references, sort them into folders, and format citations using a wide range of styles. RefWorks also offers many additional special features, including a plug-in program for Word that integrates references into your written work.
To use RefWorks, create a personal account, then download or enter citations that you want to keep track of. The citations can then be printed out in any of a wide number of styles. RefWorks has been licensed for use by anyone at UIUC.
For further information on RefWorks, see:
- Main UIUC Library RefWorks Page
- RefWorks FAQ for UIUC Users
- RefWorks Quick Start Guide (PDF)
- UIUC RefWorks tutorial
- Refworks tutorials
EndNote
EndNote is a commercial software package that is widely used for management of citations and bibliographies. The library does not provide the ENdNote software; you must purchase your own EndNote software or software license. Once you have EndNote installed, see this page to learn about and install connection files needed to transfer citations from some of the article indexing and abstracting resources to which the library subscribes.
EndNote can also be used to transfer citations/bibliographies directly from our online catalog, ILLINET online. A pre-configured EndNote/ILLINET connection file is provided here.
Finding Style Manuals on Campus
This is a list of titles, call numbers, and locations for some of the style manuals that are available for your use in the reference collections of the UIUC libraries. In addition to the style manuals listed below, other style manuals that cover citation use for specific disciplines of study may also be available. The list below is not complete, and if you are looking for a style manual that isn't listed here, please refer to the UIUC Online Library Catalog. Many of the most recent editions of the style manuals will be in a library's reference collection and will not circulate. Older editions may be available for you to check out of the library. The Writers' Workshop in the Undergraduate Library also carries style manuals.
| Style Manual | Call Number | Locations |
| The ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors [Chemical], 2nd ed. | 808.06654 AC781997 | Chemistry Library Reserves |
| American Medical Association Manual of Style, 9th ed. | 610.149 AM3S1998 | Veterinary Med Reference |
| The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed | 655.25 C43m2003 | Reference Library, Undergraduate Library, most departmental libraries |
| The Complete Guide to Citing Government Documents | 016.015 G186C1993 | Govt. Documents, Lib. & Info. Sci. Stacks, Reference, Undergrad Reference |
| A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, ... [Turabian], 6th ed. | 808.02 T84M1996 | Reference Library, Undergraduate Library, some departmental libraries |
| The MLA Style Manual, 2nd edition. | 808.02 AC47M1998 | Reference Library, Undergraduate Library, most departmental libraries |
| The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. | 808.02 M72 M1 2003 | Reference Library, Undergraduate Reference, English Reference, some departmental libraries |
| Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. | 029 AM4P 2001 | Reference Library, Undergraduate Library, Education Reference, Lib. & Info. Sci. Reference |
| Scientific Style and Format : The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 6th ed. | 029.6 C76S1994 | Biology Reference, Natural History Reference, Vet. Med. Reference |
