Dissertations
Finding Dissertations
Dissertations written at UIUC
UIUC
Online Catalog: The UIUC library should have at least one copy of all dissertations deposited
at UIUC. A non-circulating archival copy is held in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library, but a
circulating copy can often be located in other libraries. To begin searching for dissertations, use
the
Advanced Search in our
online
catalog to search by author, title, subject or department. Here is an example of a subject
search for psychology dissertations written in 2003:
- Use the
Advanced
Search in the online catalog.
- Type
Theses in the first search box and
Psychology in the second.
- In the "Search by:" dropdown menu at the right, select
Subject Words. If you want to limit by a certain year, type the year in the third
search box and select
Subject Words in the dropdown menu.
- Click on the
Search button.
Following the above directions, the search screen should look like this:
Digital Dissertations: Digital
Dissertations is a database that contains dissertation citations back to 1861, abstracts back to
1980, and the full text of many dissertations from 1997 (and sometimes earlier) to present. Masters
theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Almost all dissertations written at UIUC from 1997
forward are available as a free full-text download in PDF (Adobe Acrobat) format. Here is an
example of a subject search for education dissertations written at UIUC between 2000 and 2004:
- In the first search box, type
Education and select
Subject (SU) from the dropdown menu at the right.
- In the second search box, type
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and select
School (SC) from the dropdown menu at the right. (Note: The full name of the school needs to be typed out, so "University of
Illinois" or "UIUC" will not work.)
- To limit by year, type in the years 2000 to 2004 in the
Degree Date from boxes.
- Click the
Search button.
Following the above directions, the search screen should look like this:
After performing your search and locating a dissertation of interest, you'll see a
Free Download button at the left of the dissertation record if a full-text
download is available,
as seen below. If you click that button, you will be prompted for your email
address and a link to the dissertation will be emailed to you shortly thereafter.
If the full text is not available for download, a print copy of the dissertation should be
available in the UIUC library--just do a search in the
online
catalog for the dissertation title to determine its location.
Abstracts for pre-1980 dissertations are available in
Dissertation Abstracts, the print version of Digital Dissertations. You can view it in the
Reference Library on the first northwest index table (call number: 013 M583).
If you're having trouble finding what you need, please
Ask A Librarian for additional
assistance.
Dissertations written at other universities
Dissertations Available at the UIUC Library
-
UIUC / I-Share catalogs: While the majority of dissertations available at the UIUC
Library are those completed at the University of Illinois, the library does acquire some
dissertations completed at other institutions. Search the
UIUC
Online Catalog by author or title to see if we have a copy. If we do not have a copy, check the
I-Share
catalog. I-Share is a catalog comprising 65 academic libraries in Illinois. If there is a
circulating copy available in I-Share, you can borrow it by hitting the
Request button at the top of the screen. (More info on I-Share
requests)
-
Special library collections: If you still haven't found what you need, some
libraries on campus do have special collections of dissertations. For help locating and using them,
please visit the below libraries:
-
The Applied Health Sciences Library
has a large, circulating collection of cataloged dissertations on microfiche distributed
by the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance at the University of Oregon. The
collection includes dissertations in the following subject areas: health, physical education,
recreation, exercise and sport sciences. Dissertations from this collection can be identified in
SportDiscus and located in the
UIUC
Online Catalog.
-
The Business and Economics Library
has a small collection of uncataloged dissertations on microfiche from major business
schools in the United States from the years 1981-1986.
-
The Library and Information Science Library
has an extensive microfiche file of LIS dissertations from U.S., British, and Canadian
universities between 1979 and 2003. These are arranged alphabetically by author, and they are also
included in the
UIUC
Online Catalog.
Dissertations outside UIUC
-
Digital Dissertations: If no
copy is found at UIUC, use
Digital Dissertations to obtain a citation for the dissertation. Most American and
Canadian universities are represented in Digital Dissertations, as well as selected British and
European universities. Dissertations completed at many major U.S. universities during the past 10
years (and sometimes earlier) are available as free full-text downloads. For instructions on how to
search and download items from Digital Dissertations,
click
here. If the full text of a dissertation is not available through this database, you can fill
out a standard
interlibrary loan
request.
-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and
Dissertations:
Networked Digital Library Theses and Dissertations is a collection of over 200,000
theses and dissertations from around the world. Many items, including those dating back to the
early 1900s, are available in full text for free. For those not available in full text, fill out a
standard
interlibrary loan
request.
-
Theses Canada Portal:
Theses Canada Portal is the central access point for Canadian theses. At this
site, you can search AMICUS, Canada's national online catalogue, for records of all theses in the
National Library of Canada's theses collection, which was established in 1965. You can also access
and search for free the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that
were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002. To request a Canadian thesis not
available online in full text, fill out a standard
interlibrary loan
request.
-
Center for Research
Libraries' Foreign Doctoral Dissertation Database: Try here when looking for a dissertation
outside of the United States and Canada. This database includes 20,000 cataloged foreign doctoral
dissertations. New records are no longer being added to this database, so if you're not finding
what you need here, please check the
CRL catalog to view or search current foreign
dissertations. Because UIUC is a member of CRL, loans to the UIUC community are provided free of
charge - just fill out a standard
interlibrary loan
request and put "Item held by CRL" in the notes field.
-
Index to Theses: Search a
comprehensive list of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and
Ireland since 1716. Index to Theses includes records for over 490,000 theses, with 44,000 abstracts
added in PDF format for the period 1970 to 1986. From 1986 onwards, almost all entries include
abstracts. To request a thesis, fill out a standard
interlibrary loan
request.
To Borrow a Dissertation
Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Office: If a
dissertation is not available in any of the above locations, the
Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Office can help you acquire a copy. Requests can be
made
online or
in-person at the Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Office, 104A Main Library. If they cannot find a
circulating copy, they will e-mail you and give you the option of ordering through Dissertation
Express, a fee-based service that obtains dissertations in 4-5 business days. The library pays for
the dissertation, and retains it after you are finished with it. You, in turn, pay the $15
Dissertation Express shipping fee. For more information about this service, see the
Interlibrary Loan Office's Dissertation
Express FAQ entry.
Keeping track of dissertations in your field with RSS feeds
The
Digital Dissertations database
includes over 2 million items, with thousands of titles added each year. ProQuest, the vendor for
Digital Dissertations, offers an RSS feed that can help you keep up to date on new theses and
dissertations in your field. Find out more at the
ProQuest RSS Feeds site.
Still have questions about Dissertations?
Ask a Librarian!
http://search.grainger.uiuc.edu/templates/lib/askus/
(Note: This document is designed to help users at the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign. If you are not affiliated with UIUC and are interested in borrowing a
dissertation granted by this university, first check the
UIUC
Online Catalog, using the instructions above, to verify that there is a circulating copy, and
then consult the interlibrary loan office of your own library. If there is no circulating copy, you
may be need to purchase a copy from
Dissertation Express in digital, paper or
microfilm form. For more information contact the Reference Desk at (217)333-2290, or by email,
reflib@uiuc.edu.)