UIUC PHYSICS/ASTRONOMY LIBRARY

A Quick Guide to Finding Books, Journal Articles
and Other Information Resources

Books

Journal Articles & Conference Papers Preprints Auxilliary Services

BOOKS

ILLINET

UIUC & ILCSO (Illinois academic) Libraries – Complete online holdings of public university libraries in Illinois.  UIUC students have reciprocal borrowing privileges at all institutions and may request titles directly from any participating library.
WORLDCAT
WorldCat consists of over 35 million records that cite material owned by libraries around the world. Books, magazines, recordings; virtually any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries is included. WorldCat is updated daily.
JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

INSPEC (1969-present)

INSPEC is produced by the Institute of Electrical Engineers and provides access to the world's leading scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering,  computers and computing, and information technology. The INSPEC database offers access to international  journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books. Producer- assigned classification codes, descriptors and identifiers enhance subject access. Retrieval may also be restricted to any of the print counterparts.

FEATURES: EE, CompSci, Physics & Astronomy; Quarterly updates, comprehensive coverage, in-depth indexing

Current Contents (1993-present)
The Current Contents database provides access to Tables of Contents and bibliographic records from more than 7,500 international scholarly journals. The database consists of seven subsets: Agriculture, Biology, and Environmental Studies; Arts and Humanities; Social and Behavioral Sciences; Clinical Medicine; Life Sciences; Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences; and Engineering, Computing and Technology. These subsets can be searched individually using the Limit function

FEATURES: All Sciences; Weekly updates, major titles only, superficial indexing

Web of Science (1987-present)
Web of Science databases by the Institute for Scientific Information collectively index more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references. Three indexes are currently available: Science Citation Index Expanded , Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

FEATURES: Weekly updates, major titles, superficial indexing, ability to search an article’s references

ADS – Astrophysical Data System (1975-present)
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: 1) astronomy and astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics, containing 690,265 abstracts; 2) instrumentation, containing 608,834 abstracts; 3) physics and geophysics, containing 1,079,814 abstracts; and 4) Los Alamos preprint server, containing 4,117 abstracts. Each dataset can be searched by author, object name (astronomy only), title, or abstract text words.

FEATURES: Daily updates, comprehensive coverage of astronomy & astrophysics

ARIBIB – (Astronomy literature 1880-2000) 
The online version of the bibliography, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts (AAA), ARIBIB aims to present a comprehensive documentation of the literature concerning all aspects of astronomy, astrophysics, and their neighbouring fields. It is devoted to the recording, summarizing, and indexing of the relevant publications throughout the world.

FEATURES: No abstracts - references only; comprehensive, best for historical research

PREPRINTS

ArXiv (Cornell University) 

A set of automated archives for electronic communication of research information that have been operational in many fields of physics, and some related and unrelated disciplines, starting from 1991. These archives now serve over 35,000 users worldwide from over 70 countries, and process more than 70,000 electronic transactions per day. In some fields of physics, they have already supplanted traditional research journals as conveyers of both topical and archival research information.
SLAC/SPIRES
Search more than 450,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.
IRRC
The Information Resource and Retrieval Center  is the Interlibrary Loan Department for the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC).   Consult this service for requesting materials not owned by UIUC or our reciprocal borrowing institutions.
RESEARCH AIDS

UIUC Libraries Guide to the Research Process http://www.library.uiuc.edu/learn/handouts/researchprocess.html

APS Physical Review Style and Notation Guide http://publish.aps.org/STYLE/

CBE Style Form Guide http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/guides/cbegd.html


This search guide was produced for the faculty, students and staff of the UIUC Departments of Physics and Astronomy.   Any comments and/or suggestions for additional materials should be directed to Bill Mischo or Mary Schlembach, acting Physics/Astronomy Librarians.
27 January 2004