Brechts Werke is a full text online resource that contains a complete collection of Brecht's writings. This online version is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe um 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf, which collects Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.
**The texts in Brechts Werke are in German, NOT English.**
Searching:
Brechts Werke can be searched with a German or English interface.
Searches must be made using the language desired to be found (German).
To search, click on Suche/Search.
Types of Searches:
Stichwort/Keyword: Type in a keyword you wish to search, such as "Katze", then click on the gray Suchen/Search button above the search boxes. This will search for your term(s) in the full text of all the works.
Titel/Title: To find the full text of one of Brecht's works, type in a part or the whole title, for example "Der Kaukasische Kreidekreis". Click on the gray Suchen/Search button above the search boxes.
Further Limits:
You can further limit your search once you have chosen a type of search from above by utilizing the following options:
Suchoptionen/Search in: This can restrict your search to items just in the works themselves (Nur Volltext/Full Text Only), or in the material about the works (Nur Gesamtapparat/Apparatus Only).
Results:
After conducting a search, your results will appear. What will appear are the volumes your keywords or title appear. Click on one of the red underlined title to get to the full text. If your term(s) appear in more than one work, a further list will be provided. Click on the title you wish to read. An outline will then appear in order of entire volume, title of work, and further subdivision down to the line in which your term is found. When doing a keyword or title search, your search terms will be highlighted by a red ball in front of the term(s). If you term(s) appears more than once in the text, a red arrow will direct you to the next instance of your term(s). Click on the arrow(s) and they will direct you back and forth through the text to your term(s).
Blättern/Browe Function:
This database has a thesaurus which can be used in locating specific terms. For example, you can type in "katze" as a keyword and click on the Blättern/Browse button. You will see a thesaurus listing with a check mark in the box next to "Katze". You can then decide if you wish to also include "Katzen" in your search by holding down the "Ctrl" key and clicking on other terms. When you are finished picking out terms, click on the gray "OK" button on the right of the list of terms. You should then see the terms you picked listed in your search box. You can then complete the search by clicking on the gray Suchen/Search button above the search boxes. The same can be done with the beginning of titles.
Hilfe/Help:
At any point during your search you may click on the generic Help button (Hilfe-übersicht/Help Contents.
