Online Resources and Tools Guides
Database Guides
General Guides
- Article Databases, Searching - tips on how to construct effective search strategies (Biology, PDF)
- Boolean, Truncation, and Wildcard Chart (Health Science)
- EnterpriseWorks: A Guide to Library Resources at UIUC (Biotechnology, PDF)
- Learn about the key databases (Biotechnology, PDF)
Searching Databases: The Basics (Health Science)
Specific Guides
An Introduction to PubMed (Health Science)
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) (Biology, PDF)
Current Contents (Biology, PDF)
How to use: PubMed (from NLM)
How to use: Web of Science (Biotechnology, PDF)
PubMed (MEDLINE) (Biology, PDF)
Science Citation Index Expanded via Web of Science (Biology, PDF)
Zoological Record (Biology, PDF)
Other Guides
Article Databases (INHS)
BiblioLine Fish & Fisheries Worldwide and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (INHS)
Electronic Resources at the Biology Library (Biology, PDF)
Health Sciences Databases (Health Sciences)
Indexes and Abstracts (Environmental Studies)
INHS Library Databases (INHS)
Selected Databases (ACES)
Serials Lists for Databases (Biology)
Search Engine Guides
- Guide to Search Engines (Health Science)
- Search Engines (Grainger)
UIUC Catalog Guides
Online Library Catalog (Main Library)
Online Research Resources Page (ORR) (Main Reference)
- Tips on Using the Catalog (Veterinary Medicine)
Online Tool Guides
- Discover (Main Library)
- Discover (Biotechnology)
- Guide to Current Awareness Resources (Health Sciences)
- How to use RefWorks (briefly) (Biotechnology, PDF)
- RefWorks (Main Library)
- Table of Contents Journal Alerts (ACES)
- UIUC EndNote Support Info (Main Library)