|
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 324 Main Library - Telephone: (217) 333-2786 - Hours: 8:30am-5:00pm, Monday-Friday |
|
Indexes/Databases related to Latin American Studies |
Databases specific to Latin America
| Hispanic American Periodicals
Database (HAPI) |
This web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to articles and reviews pertaining to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S., published in more than 400 journals in the social sciences and humanities from 1970 to the present. Subjects covered include political science, foreign relations, economic development, commerce, trade and industry, the environment, geography, history, sociology, anthropology, ethnography, religion, literature, art, drama, and film. Edited by the UCLA Latin American Center. English. |
| Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) | "A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities." Available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. |
| Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) | Provides access to tables of contents for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences published in Latin America. Articles can be requested directly through the database's interlibrary loan module. Available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. |
| Ethnic News Watch | Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Indexed in the database are articles, editorials, columns, and reviews which address minority news, culture, and history. Published by Proquest, it covers 1990-present. Available in English or Spanish. |
| Political Database of the Americas | An excellent on-line source of information for finding up-to-date political information for the whole Western Hemisphere. "The main objective of the Database project is the development of a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information accessible throughout the Hemisphere and world via the World Wide Web." Available in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French. |
| LATINDEX | Directory of 12,000 scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal. Search by journal title, subject, or country. Published by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). In Spanish. |
| Clase y Periodica
|
Bases de datos de acceso gratuito con información de 1979 a la fecha. Ofrecen en conjunto cerca de 300,000 registros bibliográficos de artículos publicados en más de 2,500 revistas científicas y técnicas de América Latina y el Caribe. CLASE indiza información de revistas especializadas en ciencias sociales y humanidades y PERIODICA las de ciencia y tecnología. Para consulta seleccione el icono "Catálogos en línea." In Spanish. |
|
Chicano
Database
|
This is the most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference. It identifies, in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Edited by the University of California at Berkeley. English. |
Other useful databases
| Project Muse | Full-text database of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including nine in Latin American and Caribbean Studies. English. |
| JSTOR | Full-text archive of journals in many disciplines, including five in Latin American Studies. English. |
| Historical Abstracts | "Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present." English. |
| ISI Emerging Markets | Daily full-text news articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information for Latin American and other countries. English. |
| SIPRI Cooperative Articles Database | Created by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, this is a database of international-affairs related article citations by European research institutes. Spain's CIDOB (Barcelona) provides the Latin American-related materials. English. |
| EIU Country Intelligence | An in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide. English. |
| EBSCO
|
Collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Elite, and Newspaper Source, with general full-text journals and newspapers. Try Academic Search Elite for topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, or education. Some articles are available in full text. English. |
| FirstSearch | Collection of general databases including ArticleFirst, ECO, and WorldCat. English. |
|
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
|
A comprehensive source for news, business, and legal information, with full text and abstracts. Includes foreign news sources, major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. news services, radio and television transcripts, federal and state case law, medical, legislative and industry news, annual reports from Securities and Exchange Commission and many other sources. Newspapers are updated several times daily, and wire services hourly. English. |
| IDEAS | Extensive economics database of the RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) group, with over 135,000 items of interest, much of which is full-text. English. |
|
Home | About the LACL | Indexes and Databases | E-Journals | Internet Resource Links http://www.library.uiuc.edu/lat/databases.html
|