Poetry and Short Story Reviews and Criticism
Poetry Reviews and Criticism
(Finding articles which discuss the Poem)
MLA
Bibliography, 1963-Present:Collects
citations to studies of poets and their poetry in scholarly journals. For
help in searching, please look at our MLA Brief Search Guide
. To interpret your results use our MLA Citation Guide.
Martinez, Nancy C., and Joseph G. R. Martinez. Guide to British
Poetry Explication. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991. (016.82109 M363G / English
Library Reference) Collects citations to criticism on individual
poems under author headings. Like American Poetry Explication,
often the first and best place to go for such criticism.
Poetry Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991-. (Q. 809.1
P7532 / English Library Reference) A Multi-volume set which provides an
introduction to major poets from all eras and nationalities. Each volume
selects 8-10 authors and reprints selected criticism of their works. The
most recent volume indexes all previous volumes.
Ruppert, James, and John R. Leo. Guide to American Poetry Explication.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1989. (016.81109 G941 / English Library Reference) Collects
citations to criticism on individual poems under author headings.
Often the first and best place to go for such criticism.
Poetry Indexes
(Finding where a Poem has been published)
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies. Ed.
Nicholas Frankovich. 11th , completely rev. ed. New York: Columbia University
Press, 1997. (016.8081 G76I1997 / English Library Reference) Indexes
poems which have been published in anthologies. Provides an index for Title,
First Line, Last Line, Author, and Subject.
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected
Works. Eds. Nicholas Frankovich and Edith Granger. New York: Columbia
University Press, 1996. (016.8081 G76I1996 / English Library Reference)
As opposed to Anthologies, this volume indexes poems which have appeared
in collected or selected editions by major poets. Provides an index for
Title, First Line, Author, and Subject.
The
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry . Online database with various
search options to help you locate where a poem has been printed. This electronic
resource also contains commentaries, biographies that are followed by a short
bibliography, notes on form and a glossary of prosodic terms.
Index of American Periodical Verse. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow
Press, 1973-. (016.80881 IN23 / English Library Reference) Indexes poems
which have appeared in magazines or journals between 1971-1996. Annual volumes.
Full-Text Poetry Databases
(Finding an online copy of the Poem)
The
American Poetry Database:
Features the works of more than 200 American poets, along with six
landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of
the most influential American poets, from the Colonial period to the early
twentieth century.
The
English Poetry Database:
Full-Text database of works by almost 1,350 poets from 600-1900.
The
Database of African American Poetry:
Covers the works of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth
and nineteenth centuries.
Poets' Corner:A general
poetry source arranged by Author and Title. Reprints selected poems by a
variety of authors, though they lack citations for print versions of the
poems.
Representative
Poetry On-Line:
University of Toronto's searchable full-text database of English
poetry from the medieval period to the early twentieth century.
Biographical Resources
(Finding information on a Poet's life)
Contemporary
Authors:
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general
nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other
fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for
more than 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.
Contemporary Poets. Ed. Thomas Riggs. 6th ed. Detroit: St.
James Press, 1996. (Q.928.21 C7671996 / English Library Reference) Provides
brief biographical and bibliographic information for poets, as well as contact
information when available.
Dictionary
of Literary Biography (DLB):
Documents the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
As DLB is augmented several times over the course of a year, it will grow
to include essays on more than 6,000 authors.
Short Story Reviews and Criticism
Short Story Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1988-. (Q.809.31
SH81 / English Library Reference) A Multi-volume set which provides an
introduction to major short story writers from all eras and nationalities.
Each volume selects 8-10 authors and reprints selected criticism of their
short stories. The most recent volume indexes all previous volumes.
Short Story Index. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1953-. (A.808.3C77S
/ English Library Reference) Indexes where Short Stories have been published.
The first volume supersedes the Index to Short Stories published
in 1923 and additional volumes index through 1995.
Walker, Warren S., and Barbara K. Walker. Twentieth-Century Short
Story Explication: Interpretations 1900-1975 of Short Fiction Since 1800.
3rd ed. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1977. [With supplements.] (016.8093
W15T / English Library Reference)