City Planning and
|
|
| University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign |
|
| |
|
The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at UIUC, and especially in the City Planning and Landscape Architecture Library. It is not meant to be comprehensive, but an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. Items which will be available only to UIUC community members, with a log in name and password, are noted as UIUC, all other universal resources are noted as WWW. Print resources, unless otherwise noted, are available in the CPLA library with its location noted if relevant (e.g. Reference).
See also: Guide to Sources in City Planning and Guide to Sources in Landscape Architecture
Acronym
Finder WWW
http://www.acronymfinder.com/
Journal
Abbreviation Sources WWW: JAS, or Journal Abbreviation Sources,
is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full
title of journal abbreviations.
http://www.public.iastate.edu/~CYBERSTACKS/JAS.htm
Scientific and
Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations WWW: A
searchable, online resource published as an adjunct to content on Wiley
InterScience.
http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/stasa/
Ground Rules for Good Research: A Ten Point
Guide
for Social Researchers Martyn Denscombe, Buckingham; Philadelphia:
Open University Press, 2002.
300.72 D4331g CPLA Main Stacks
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers Theses and
Dissertations Kate Turabian, Chicago: University of Chicago Press,
1998. Comprehensive guidance to writers of research papers. Conforms
with the Chicago Manual of Style.
029.9 T84m1996 Reference
Plain
English WWW: From the U.S. Government an excellent web resource
on writing clearly, concisely and effectively. Includes a library of
examples and step by step assistance on writing documents.
http://www.plainlanguage.gov/
Planning in Plain English: Writing Tips for
Urban and Environmental Planners Natalie Macris, Chicago, Ill.:
Planners Press: American Planning Association, 2000. Concise treatment
on how to communicate planning ideas and concepts clearly and
effectively, includes exercises and a bibliography and glossary of
planning acronyms.
307.12 M247p Reference
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative and
Mixed Methods Approaches John W. Cresswell, Thousand Oaks, Calif.:
Sage Publications, 2003. Guide to preparing plans and proposals for a
scholarly journal article, dissertation or thesis. Especially valuable
in its coverage of research methods and their use.
300.72 C865r Reference
Writer’s Workshop at
UIUC: Provides free writing assistance to all students, faculty
and staff at the University and in all disciplines. Their webpage also
has useful information and resources on writing research papers.
http://www.english.uiuc.edu/cws/wworkshop/
Bibliography
Style Handbook (APA) WWW: Online handbook from UIUC to citing
in APA style.
http://www.english.uiuc.edu/cws/wworkshop/writer_resources/citation_styles/apa/apa.htm
The Chicago Manual of Style, 14th ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993. Can be found in various
libraries on campus you can do a title search in the library catalog to
find its location.
655.25 C43M1993 Reference
Chicago/Turabian
Documentation WWW: An online handbook from the University of
Madison Wisconsin on citing in Chicago style.
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocChicago.html
Citation
Styles online! WWW : A guide to citing various electronic
materials in Chicago, APA, MLA, CBE and others.
http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/citex.html
Elements
of Style William Strunk, Jr. WWW: Complete edition of the 1918
edition of this classic style manual online.
http://www.bartleby.com/141/
Print source of the Strunk and White edition is found in many
libraries on campus and can be located by doing a title search in the
library catalog.
Bibliographies most often cover specialized areas
See also: City Planning Bibliographies : Landscape Architecture Bibliographies
Bibliography
of the History of Art 1973-- : UIUC Covering European and
American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of
the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference
proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and
articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=Bibliography+of+the+History+of+Art&tstype=K&types=&ByTitle=Search
See also: City Planning Biographical Sources : Landscape Architecture Biographical Sources
American
National Biography UIUC: Contains 17,435 biographical portraits
of deceased Americans from the 1999 print edition, plus 500 new
portraits added yearly and periodic updates of the biographies,
bibliographies, and hyperlinks. Searchable by keyword, name, sphere of
activity, birthplace, birth and death dates, and author/compiler.
Contains 80,000 cross-referenced links, and selected links to other
sites.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3575
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) UIUC: Covers individuals,
both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all
areas of the world by indexing reference sources such as biographical
dictionaries and who's who guides, subject encyclopedias, and volumes
of literary criticism. The total number of biographical sketches
indexed by BGMI is now nearly 12 million. Updated biannually.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3364
Union List of Artists Names WWW: Contains bibliographic information on artists and architects. Includes name variations. http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/ulan/
See also: City Planning Book reviews : Landscape Architecture Book reviews
ACQ
Web’s Directory of Book Reviews on the Web WWW: An excellent
and comprehensive source for various book reviews in many different
fields; both academic and general. Maintained by collection development
librarians.
http://acqweb.org/bookrev.html
Book
Review Digest via Silver Platter UIUC: Covers fiction
and non-fiction and can be searched by keyword, title, author or
subject. Select Book Review Digest at bottom of page. 1983--
http://web5s.silverplatter.com/webspirs/start.ws?customer=c2926&databases=WN
Bowker's Books in Print
UIUC: Electronic edition includes approximately 600,000 full-text
book reviews as a complement to its 3.5 million title records. From a
list of search results, items with reviews are marked with a star. To
limit a search to books with reviews, select either "any source" or a
specific journal from the "reviewed in" menu on the right hand side of
the main search page. In order to access reviews, click on the "title
reviews" tab at the top of the full record for a particular book.
http://www.booksinprint.com/bip/
Environmental
Design Library Book Review Sources for Environmental Design WWW:
From the University of California at Berkeley this has a list of
sources that include book reviews on architecture, city planning and
landscape architecture. This page is extremely valuable as it shows how
to search for book reviews in each individual source. UIUC owns most of
these sources however, they must be accessed through UIUC’s catalog http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/
by typing the name into the search box.
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/BookReviews.html
See also: City Planning Dictionaries : Landscape Architecture Dictionaries
The American Heritage Dictionary of
the English Language WWW:
General purpose online dictionary.
http://www.bartleby.com/61/
Art
Lex WWW: An online dictionary of terms used in art and art
history.
http://www.artlex.com/
Oxford Desk Dictionary of
People and Places Frank R Abate, New York : Oxford University
Press, 2000.
920.02 Ox25 Reference
Oxford Dictionary of the Social
Sciences Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002. Oriented to the
educated lay person, covers many disciplines.
300.3 D56.1 Reference
Oxford
English Dictionary UIUC: An authoritative reference providing
guidance on spelling, definitions, usage, and origins of words in the
English language. It is unabridged and includes quotations showing
words in context.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=13279
See also: City Planning Directories : Landscape Architecture Directories
National Faculty Directory
Detroit, Gale Research Co. 2002. Has addresses and information on more
than 740,000 faculty at universities in the United States and Canada.
Q923.7 N212002:1 Reference
See also: City Planning Encyclopedias : Landscape Architecture Encyclopedias
Columbia Encyclopedia WWW:
The sixth edition of the Columbia Encyclopedia contains over 51,000
entries with 80,000 hypertext links.
http://www.bartleby.com/65/
The Columbia Gazetteer of the
World Saul B. Cohen ed., New York: Columbia University Press, 1998.
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features.
910.3 C723 Reference
Encyclopedia
Britannica Online UIUC:
Includes the complete Britannica encyclopedia, as well as
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Encyclopedia
Britannica Intermediate, and the Britannica Book of the Year, also
includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and
reviewed by Britannica editors.
http://search.eb.com/
Grove Dictionary of Art
UIUC: Search or browse entries on all aspects of the visual arts
through history, including painting, architecture, sculpture,
photography and other categories. Individual entries include links to
museums, related websites and art online. Also contains a link to
current art news.
http://www.groveart.com/index.html
The
Oxford Reference Online UIUC: Oxford Reference Online is the
core collection which contains about 100 dictionary, language
reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University
Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books.
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/GLOBAL.html?authstatuscode=202
See also: City Planning Images, Maps and Digital Collections : Landscape Architecture Images, Maps and Digital Collections
Art
Museum Image Consortium (AMICO) UIUC: A huge database of
digital art images from UIUC and UIC that can be downloaded for use in
instruction or research. (**AMICO
was in operation from 1997 to 2005. This database is currently available
only for archival purposes.) http://www.amico.org/home.html
Digital Imaging and
Media Technology Initiative WWW: From UIUC, a collection of
online images in several different collections has many maps and images
of Illinois.
http://images.library.uiuc.edu/projects/
EBSCO
Host Image Collections UIUC: (via EBSCO Online; click
General Full-Text Journals and Newspapers. Then select Academic Search
Elite, then Image Collections in the upper right of the page)
Organized under the categories Photos of People, Natural Science
Photos, Photos of Places, Historical Photos, Maps, and Flags, this
collection of large-format color images is searchable by keyword or by
natural language.
http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/multimedia?vid=7&hid=105&sid=8d8e12e9-2fd2-4213-81b3-a66a87df5a97%40sessionmgr104
Geography Network WWW:
A global network of geographic information users and providers. Mostly
free access to many types of geographic content including dynamic maps.
The site includes population density maps and customizable maps from
Census information, downloadable data, and more.
http://www.geographynetwork.com/
Library of Congress American
Memory National Digital Library WWW: Holds more than 7 million
items in more than 100 historical collections. Has a very good
collection of maps.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html
National Atlas of the United
States WWW: Includes many different kinds of maps including
printable, multimedia and interactive.
http://www.nationalatlas.gov/
Small Town America
WWW: Stereoscopic Views from the Robert Dennis Collection
By the New York Public Library this resource contains approximately
12,000 stereoscopic views from New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut
from the 1850s to the 1910s. It includes images of buildings and street
scenes, industry, transportation, natural disasters, local festivities,
and costumes.
http://digital.nypl.org/dennis/stereoviews/
UIUC Digital
Gateway to Cultural Heritage Materials WWW: An open archives
initiative with Michigan that attempts to facilitate discovery and
retrieval of certain classes of scholarly works. There are texts and
graphics.
http://nergal.grainger.uiuc.edu/cgi/b/bib/bib-idx
See also: City Planning Indexes and Abstracts : Landscape Architecture Indexes and Abstracts
ABI/Inform
UIUC: Indexes citations on business and management topics from over
1800 U.S. and international publications. Full text is available online
for selected articles.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=ABI%2FInform&tstype=K&types=
Academic
Search Premier UIUC: Multidisciplinary database providing
full-text access to over 1500 periodical (1990-present), and citation /
summary access to articles from nearly 4000 periodicals (1984-present).
It provides some full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic
areas of study.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=Academic+Search+Premier&tstype=K&types=
Agricola
UIUC: Contains bibliographic records of materials in the
agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records
describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten
percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps,
and other types of materials. Covers 1970-present.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=Agricola&tstype=K&types=
America:
History and Life UIUC: A complete bibliographic reference to
the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the
present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000
bibliographic entries.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=America+History+and+Life&tstype=K&types=
Art Index
Retrospective UIUC: Provides searchable indexing spanning 55
years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe,
reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Covers
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts;
fashion; folk art and more.
ArticleFirst
UIUC: Offers a general index of over 12,600 journals in science,
technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and
popular culture. Covers 1990-present, updated daily.
Associations
Unlimited UIUC: Contains information for approximately 444,000
international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit
membership organizations, associations and societies in all fields.
http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/AU;jsessionid=7CD0685DC9D467210709579C3E3501E3?locID=uiuc
Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals UIUC: Indexes more than
1,000 periodicals in architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior
design, and historic preservation. Covers 1977 to present.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.asp?rid=3469
Current
Contents UIUC: Supplies the complete table of contents page and
holdings information for 8,000 journals in many fields. Covers
1990-present, updated daily. Specific journal contents can be emailed
to user regularly upon request.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/results.php?titlesearch=Current+Contents&tstype=K&types=
CRL Foreign Doctoral Dissertation Database WWW: The Center for Research Libraries database for dissertations published outside of the United States and Canada. Provides instructions for interlibrary loan procedure. As UIUC is a member of the CRL, interlibrary loans for the UIUC community are provided free of charge. Materials are being added on a regular basis. http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=23&l3=44&l4=25
Current Research
(Dissertations in the Big Ten) UIUC: Contains citations and
abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of
Illinois at UC and other Big Ten schools. It is possible to
download the full text of dissertations and theses published after
1996.
http://wwwlib.umi.com/cr/cic/main
Dissertation
Abstracts UIUC: The most comprehensive source for North
American dissertations.
http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTRkNyszYjBmJlNNRD00JklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=36305
EBSCO
online UIUC: Offers general, business, newspaper and
health-related
information. Over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences,
humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, plus
960 journals covering business, management, economics, finance,
banking, accounting. Selected full text articles available.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3482
Engineering Village
Compendex UIUC: An interdisciplinary engineering database with
almost seven million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and
conference materials dating from 1970. The database is updated weekly.
http://www.engineeringvillage2.org/
Left Index
UIUC: Provides a guide to the literature of the left, with an
emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged
scholarship. Topics covered include labor, ecology and environment,
race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and
aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3362
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe UIUC: A comprehensive source for news,
business, and legal information, with full text and abstracts. Includes
foreign news sources, major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. news
services, radio and television transcripts, federal and state case law,
medical, legislative and industry news, annual reports from Securities
and Exchange Commission and many other sources. Newspapers are updated
several times daily, and wire services hourly.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3473
Ingenta
UIUC: Searchable access to tables of contents of thousands of
academic journals, many with full text articles available to UIUC users
at no charge. Indexes journals in urban planning, environment and
development and landscape studies.
http://ilurbana.library.ingentaconnect.com/?redirectTo=/?
JSTOR
UIUC: Includes the full-text of over 100 journals in the areas of
African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business,
ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature,
management, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population
studies, sociology, and statistics.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3372
PAIS (Public
Affairs Information Service) UIUC: Bibliographic index with
abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public
policy issues.
https://ilcso.illinois.edu/login/module/login.cgi?properties=ibis_secure&secure_page=ibis,DBC=n,D=pais&signon_option=yes
Periodicals
Contents Index UIUC: An electronic index to millions of
articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in
the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides
context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents
from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes
journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western
languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well
as landscape architecture and the environment.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3375
Sociological
Abstracts Database UIUC: The database draws information from an
international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial
publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records
added after 1974 contain abstracts of journal articles.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3409
Web of Knowledge
UIUC: Indexes journals and provides complete
bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references.
Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation
Index. It can also be used to find reviews. The Science Citation Index Expanded
and Social Sciences Citation Index are available from 1970 to the
present. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is available from 1975
to the present.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3378
Find Law for
Legal Professionals, Illinois WWW: An extensive list of
annotated links to legislation in Illinois. Can go to Find Law's
homepage to branch out nationally.
http://www.findlaw.com/11stategov/il/laws.html
Government Documents Library
at UIUC: The UIUC Government Documents Library is an official
depository for United Nations, Canadian, United States and State of
Illinois publications and information. An excellent guide to government
and legal information as well as links to important websites and
resources mostly free access, but a few for UIUC user’s only.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/doc/
GPO Access WWW: From the
Government Printing Office, information and databases on all three
branches of the federal government can be freely accessed via this
webpage.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
Illinois
Compiled Statutes WWW : Maintained by the Legislative Reference
Bureau lists statutes by category. This is not an official or
authoritative source, but is a good place to get an overview of
Illinois statutes.
http://www.legis.state.il.us/legislation/ilcs/ilcs.asp
Legal Information
Institute WWW: From Cornell University a comprehensive site
with links and information on Constitutions and codes, court opinions,
laws by jurisdiction, directories and current awareness. Fully
searchable.
http://www.law.cornell.edu/index.html
Thomas WWW: From
the Library of Congress this database is the most comprehensive
congressional information site on the web. Current information on bills
and resolutions in Congress as well as bill text, legislative status
and abstracts are including. The Congressional Record is also included
as are past years.
http://thomas.loc.gov/
See also: City Planning Library Catalogs and Resources : Landscape Architecture Library Catalogs and Resources
ILCSO: A resource
sharing system of 56 libraries of which UIUC is one. If you can't find
a book in the UIUC library this is the next place to look. Items may be
requested online by those in the system.
http://office.ilcso.illinois.edu/
UIUC Online Reference
Collection UIUC
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/rex/erefs/
UIUC Online Research
Resources: Resources can be accessed by title, by subject area
covered or by type of resource i.e. newspapers, indexes, statistics etc.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/index.php
University of Illinois Archives:
Holds materials relevant to the history of UIUC.
http://web.library.uiuc.edu/ahx/
WorldCat/OCLC
UIUC: WorldCat is the combined union catalog of more than 1500 OCLC
member libraries worldwide, with over 43 million records representing
materials in all formats. A good place to go if you can’t find a book
in the ILCSO system, gives location and bibliographic information for
items.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3492
Census Bureau
WWW: From the U.S. Government, this page offers statistics
searchable by geographic area, by characteristics such as age, race and
poverty or comparative tables.
http://www.census.gov/
The
Demography Homepage WWW: Part of an initiative to identify,
document, and provide simple access to demographic information
concerning The United States of America. Offers data as well as access
to national data resources.
http://www.ciesin.org/datasets/us-demog/us-demog-home.html
Illinois Statistical
Abstract WWW: The 2002 Illinois Statistical Abstract is a
comprehensive compilation of economic and demographic data relating to Illinois
and to political subdivisions within the
state.
http://www.igpa.uillinois.edu/abstract/
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: [For
sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.], 2002. Statistics on
social
and economic conditions in the United States with selected
international data included.
317 Un3s2002 Reference
Statistical
Resources on the Web WWW: This site, created and maintained by
University of Michigan Documents Center, is organized by broad subject
area, such as Foreign or Statistics, in order to facilitate research.
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/statsnew.html
Statistical
Universe via Lexis Nexus UIUC: Provides comprehensive
access to statistical information from Congressional Information
Service, Inc.
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ersearch/get.php?rid=3443
STAT-USA
Internet UIUC: Produced by STAT-USA, an agency within the
Economics and Statistics Administration of the U.S. Department of
Commerce,
STAT-USA is an authoritative source for U.S. business,
economic, and trade information. Must click on link at top of page to
log-in.
http://www.stat-usa.gov/
World Development Indicators UIUC: Comprised of more than 550 indicators in 80 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The data go back to 1960, depending on the country. For more information, see the Commerce Library(UIUC). http://www.library.uiuc.edu/crx http://www.worldbank.org/data/onlinedbs/onlinedbases.htm
Knowing what search words to use can help you search more efficiently. A good thesaurus can help you find terms to both broaden and narrow your search.
Agrovoc
WWW: A multilingual online thesaurus from the Food and Agriculture
Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Concentration is on subjects
having to do with agriculture, food and land issues.
http://www.fao.org/agrovoc/
Alexandria
Digital Library Feature Type Thesaurus WWW: Helpful in finding
the terms used to categorize geographic places/features.
http://www.alexandria.ucsb.edu/gazetteer/FeatureTypes/ver070302/index.htm
EPA
Terms of Environment WWW: Defines in non-technical terms
commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications. Also
contains a list of commonly used acronyms and abbreviations.
http://www.epa.gov/docs/OCEPAterms/
Roget’s
II the New Thesaurus WWW: General overall thesaurus online.
http://www.bartleby.com/62/
| |
|
University
of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignLibrary Gateway Homepage Comments and questions to Joseph Zumalt Last updated on 10/24/07 JB |
|
| |
|