Research Guides:

Guides to SLC Collections:

Overview of the Student Life and Culture Collections

A detailed description of the general collections of the SLC Archives.

University of Illinois in the Cold War Era, 1945-1975

Historical overviews of Cold War era materials in SLC Archives.
Research Tools:

Primary Source VILLAGE Tutorial

A tutorial for students and researchers working with primary sources.

Citation Guide

Guidelines for writing citations of documents in the University of Illinois Archives.

Research Topics in the SLC Archives

A list of potential research topics that could be based on material from University of Illinois Archives.

University of Illinois History Bibliography (external link)

A comprehensive listing overview of primary and secondary sources related to U of I history.

Resources on African Americans at U of I

An overview of sources and bibliography about African Americans on the U of I campus.

Digital Daily Illini Student Newspaper, 1916-1936 (external link)

Daily Ilini Spectrum index, 1961-1978

Daily Illini Story Archives, 2004-present (external link) .

Search Board of Trustees Minutes , 1952-2006 (external link)

Digital Board of Trustees Minutes, 1867-1896, 1990-1996

University of Illinois History:

UIHistories Project (external link)

An ongoing project that documents the everyday lives of Illinois students.

Ethnograpy of the University (external link)

UI cross-campus initiative sponsoring interdisciplinary undergraduate research on the University.

History of Campus Units

Short histories of the units on the University of Illinois campus prepared by the University Archives.

The Origin of Homecoming at University of Illinois

This paper details how the tradition of homecoming began at the University of Illinois and eventually spread to other midwestern universities around the country.

History of the "Fighting Illini"

Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about the term "Fighting Illini and its association with Illinois.

History of the Ku Klux Klan at the University of Illinois

An inquiry into the origins of the Ku Klux Klan organization on the University of Illinois campus. (PDF format, to download, right click and select "Save As")

World War II of the University of Illinois

An essay that details the dramatic changes on the University of Illinois campus during the era of the Second World War. (PDF format, to download, right click and select "Save As")

 

 

 

 

RESOURCES ON AFRICAN AMERICANS AT ILLINOIS


An overview of sources and bibliography about African Americans students on the U of I campus. click here

PRIMARY SOURCE VILLAGE:
A RESEARCH TUTORIAL


Learn to analyze sources in the SLC collection with this tutorial. click here

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS DURING THE COLD WAR


Historical overviews of Cold War era materials in SLC Archives. click here

ETHNOGRAPHY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS


Visit the ongoing project to document the everyday lives of Illinois students. click here (external link)